gamesorderdesignmiscellaneous
 
 

ERRATA / QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
(numbers indicate references to the rules booklet)



1) Can a stack (inf/arty) move together along a road (thus nullifying terrain)?

Yes (see 8.2.3).

2) Can routed units consolidate during the special night segment?

Units do not stay routed into the night (see 9.4).

3) Can a unit that starts in a ZOC still move one hex into another ZOC, where it must stop?

Yes, as long as the unit moving begins its movement segment within two hexes of an effective leader that has authority over it (see 6.1).

4) Can units move through ZOC's at night as long as they comply with the forming lines intention?

Yes (see 11.3).

5) If a random event can't occur, what happens? For example, Hebert falls sick, but Green has already replaced a fallen leader; is the event ignored, or do the Reb's lose Hebert and play short-handed?

The latter. If either Green or McArthur are already in play as replacements, the random events removing Hebert and McKean do still take effect. The orphaned troops must be assigned to another leader (see 9.3).

6) If solo artillery bombards across a creek, does it suffer any adverse combat results?

No; any combat effects applicable to the artillery are ignored (add to 8.3.1).

7) If a unit successfully withdraws before combat, and ends up in another enemy ZOC, can it be attacked (or even possibly try to withdraw again)?

Yes.

8) Why is there so much combat (sequence 1) when both sides choose the 'Defend' posture?

Sequence 1 is what I tagged the "default" sequence for the Action Phase. When players play identical posture cards, it is the sequence used. Note that all combat is voluntary; there doesn't have to be so much combat. Chalk the possibility up to battlefield unpredictability.

9) It seems odd that certain combats are 'safe' for leaders. So an attacking General can't fall at 1.5-to-1 or 3-to-1 odds?

Designer preference. Did it cause you to change any of your attacks so as not to put a leader at risk?

10) If a player has chosen Attack Posture for his army on the previous turn, and then chooses Attack Posture again for the next turn, does he have to pay an Army Point?

Yes, he does. "An Attack posture will cost the controlling player
1 Army Modifier point (preparations for the attack) unless it has been preceded the previous turn with a Ready posture." (7.1.1) The whole idea here is to somehow show all the behind-the-scenes preparation that is needed before an attack without having to "game" all that detail. Some may enjoy that aspect of gaming; I don't.

11) If a unit has 3 [or more]units adjacent at the start of a new turn , do you have to remember which 2 units were considered as occupying the unit's first 2 ZOCs last turn or can the Player choose now?

The answer is implied, but could be clearer. The controlling player chooses which two hexes are "fixed" as ZOCs if that player moves a unit into position that is adjacent to more than two enemy units (6.0). At the start of a new turn, it is also the controlling player's choice as to which two are ZOCs: it does not have to be the same two from the previous turn. This can be accounted to the unit making minor facing adjustments or flank refusals. Again, things that are not micromanaged in my systembut still accounted for.

12) If two divisions are active in the same Combat Segment (i.e. Sequence 4, A Combats Div 1 & 2), can units of both divisions attack the same enemy unit in one attack?

Absolutely. "The controlling player initiates any combat he wishes with units he designates to be active this segment" (8.3). So in your example above, Divisions 1 & 2 are both active and can both attack with their units either separately, in cooperation, or both.

13) I am assuming that a unit adjacent to greater than one enemy unit can attack one of those units without regard to whether the other units are attacked by other friendly units?

Yes. "Combat is always voluntary and can occur between adjacent units only" (8.3.1).

14) If an infantry unit routs and the artillery unit that it is stacked with retreats, can the enemy unit advance?

No. "Units may NOT advance into hexes vacated by retreating units" (8.3.10). Although the infantry routed, the artillery has retreated in good order and the attack on the whole was not effective enough to advance into the hex.

15) If a unit withdrawals into an enemy ZOC, can the unit be attacked by this unit in the same Combat Segment?

Yes. Nowhere do the rules prohibit this. Note, it is possible to move adjacent to an enemy unit, NOT be in its ZOC, and still be attacked by it! ZOC in the game is more a function of movement than combat.

16) If a leader chooses not to move with a routed unit (and this leaves the leader alone in the hex), can this leader be placed in a hex with another friendly unit?

No. There are no rules for "beaming" leaders from place to place. The leader must move during a regular movement segment -- divisional leaders during their own, or army leaders during any friendly movement segment.

17) If a retreating unit ends it's retreat next to a enemy cavalry unit, must the cavalry unit retreat three hexes?

Yes. "When an enemy unit (infantry or cavalry) enters the ZOC of a cavalry unit, the enemy unit stops movement immediately. However, the cavalry unit must then immediately retreat three hexes away" (10.2). Same if a unit routs into a cavalry ZOC, except that the routing unit suffers "one additional SP loss total" (8.3.8).

18) Is an Army Leader considered an effective leader for Combat, Withdrawal, and Retreat?

Only Price can be effective for offensive combat since "Rosecrans and Van Dorn may NOT voluntarily enter an enemy ZOC even if stacked with a friendly unit" (8.2.7). Army leaders are always effective for defensive combat, withdrawal, and checking for retreats and/or routs (8.3.8).

19) Which player (attacker or defender) determines the sequence in which checks are resolved?

The order does not matter. Consider the results as being determined simultaneously.

20) And finally, how do you manage to put out such a quality production for a mere price??!

There's no real profit in it. Call it a labor of fun!

 

North to South
The Battle of Corinth had the peculiar distinction of having the Southerners attacking from the north against the Northerners defending from the south. Van Dorn had taken a wide turning movement in an attempt to surprise the Federal army at Corinth.

Was there another battle in the American Civil War that featured this unusual directional distinction? Yes, Gettysburg.

 


 

HOME | GAMES | ORDER | DESIGN | MISCELLANEOUS

© Scott Holmgren for
Blue Guidon Games, Waveland Creative, LLC