/ QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
(numbers indicate references
to the rules booklet)
1) Can a stack (inf/arty) move together along
a road (thus nullifying terrain)?
Can routed units consolidate during the special night segment?
do not stay routed into the night (see 9.4).
Can a unit that starts in a ZOC still move one hex into another
ZOC, where it must stop?
as long as the unit moving begins its movement segment within
two hexes of an effective leader that has authority over it (see
Can units move through ZOC's at night as long as they comply with
the forming lines intention?
If a random event can't occur, what happens? For example, Hebert
falls sick, but Green has already replaced a fallen leader; is the
event ignored, or do the Reb's lose Hebert and play short-handed?
latter. If either Green or McArthur are already in play as replacements,
the random events removing Hebert and McKean do still take effect.
The orphaned troops must be assigned to another leader (see 9.3).
If solo artillery bombards across a creek, does it suffer any adverse
any combat effects applicable to the artillery are ignored (add
If a unit successfully withdraws before combat, and ends up in another
enemy ZOC, can it be attacked (or even possibly try to withdraw
Why is there so much combat (sequence 1) when both sides choose
the 'Defend' posture?
1 is what I tagged the "default" sequence for the Action Phase.
When players play identical posture cards, it is the sequence
used. Note that all combat is voluntary; there doesn't have to
be so much combat. Chalk the possibility up to battlefield unpredictability.
It seems odd that certain combats are 'safe' for leaders. So an
attacking General can't fall at 1.5-to-1 or 3-to-1 odds?
Did it cause you to change any of your attacks so as not to put
a leader at risk?
If a player has chosen Attack Posture for his army on the previous
turn, and then chooses Attack Posture again for the next turn, does
he have to pay an Army Point?
he does. "An Attack posture will cost the controlling player
1 Army Modifier point (preparations for the attack) unless it
has been preceded the previous turn with a Ready posture."
(7.1.1) The whole idea here is to somehow show all the behind-the-scenes
preparation that is needed before an attack without having to
"game" all that detail. Some may enjoy that aspect of
gaming; I don't.
If a unit has 3 [or more]units adjacent at the start of a new turn
, do you have to remember which 2 units were considered as occupying
the unit's first 2 ZOCs last turn or can the Player choose now?
answer is implied, but could be clearer. The controlling player
chooses which two hexes are "fixed" as ZOCs if that
player moves a unit into position that is adjacent to more than
two enemy units (6.0). At the start of a new turn, it is also
the controlling player's choice as to which two are ZOCs: it does
not have to be the same two from the previous turn. This can be
accounted to the unit making minor facing adjustments or flank
refusals. Again, things that are not micromanaged in my systembut
still accounted for.
If two divisions are active in the same Combat Segment (i.e. Sequence
4, A Combats Div 1 & 2), can units of both divisions attack
the same enemy unit in one attack?
"The controlling player initiates any combat he wishes with
units he designates to be active this segment" (8.3). So
in your example above, Divisions 1 & 2 are both active and
can both attack with their units either separately, in cooperation,
I am assuming that a unit adjacent to greater than one enemy unit
can attack one of those units without regard to whether the other
units are attacked by other friendly units?
"Combat is always voluntary and can occur between adjacent
units only" (8.3.1).
If an infantry unit routs and the artillery unit that it is stacked
with retreats, can the enemy unit advance?
"Units may NOT advance into hexes vacated by retreating units"
(8.3.10). Although the infantry routed, the artillery has retreated
in good order and the attack on the whole was not effective enough
to advance into the hex.
If a unit withdrawals into an enemy ZOC, can the unit be attacked
by this unit in the same Combat Segment?
Nowhere do the rules prohibit this. Note, it is possible to move
adjacent to an enemy unit, NOT be in its ZOC, and still be attacked
by it! ZOC in the game is more a function of movement than combat.
If a leader chooses not to move with a routed unit (and this leaves
the leader alone in the hex), can this leader be placed in a hex
with another friendly unit?
There are no rules for "beaming" leaders from place
to place. The leader must move during a regular movement segment
-- divisional leaders during their own, or army leaders during
any friendly movement segment.
If a retreating unit ends it's retreat next to a enemy cavalry unit,
must the cavalry unit retreat three hexes?
"When an enemy unit (infantry or cavalry) enters the ZOC
of a cavalry unit, the enemy unit stops movement immediately.
However, the cavalry unit must then immediately retreat three
hexes away" (10.2). Same if a unit routs into a cavalry ZOC,
except that the routing unit suffers "one additional SP loss
Is an Army Leader considered an effective leader for Combat, Withdrawal,
Price can be effective for offensive combat since "Rosecrans
and Van Dorn may NOT voluntarily enter an enemy ZOC even if stacked
with a friendly unit" (8.2.7). Army leaders are always effective
for defensive combat, withdrawal, and checking for retreats and/or
Which player (attacker or defender) determines the sequence in which
checks are resolved?
order does not matter. Consider the results as being determined
And finally, how do you manage to put out such a quality production
for a mere price??!
no real profit in it. Call it a labor of fun!