gamesorderdesignmiscellaneous
 
 

ERRATA / QUESTIONS & ANSWERS
(numbers indicate references to the rules booklet)



1) Rule 9.3.2, bullet three states, "If any defenders are routed or disrupted, add 1 to the die roll." What is "disrupted"?

A leftover from an earlier draft of the rules! Unfortunately it slipped through the proofing process. The rules should read, "If any defenders are routed, add 1 to the die roll."

2) Is it possible to delay McClellan's arrival till a later turn when other Federal reinforcements arrive?

No, McClellan must enter when specified by the random event.

3) Does McClellan have to follow reinforcement rules which state that units must stay on a road during the turn that they enter?

No, neither McClellan or Longstreet are bound by that restriction.

4) Can McClellan show up in a different hex instead, say the road hex where Cox's men came on board?

Yes, McClellan can enter at any Union entry hex.

5) Which is correct for purposes of the crest modifier on combat: the references in the TEC or the references in the CRT ( and is it possible to have a unit reduced to zero SPs)?
"...the specific problem we encountered yesterday was that on the combat table the crest attack DRM specifies attacking INFANTRY suffer the penalty, while the rules and the terrain chart both say UNIT. The question came up because I was attacking up a slope and across a crest with an Artillery unit. Now its clear that Artillery units attacking into a woods hex have a strength of 1. BUT, if they are attacking up slope across a crest, are Arty units suppose to lose another SP? If so, does that make Arty units have a strength of zero when attacking upslope into a woods hex (obviously making it impossible for them to attack such a hex)?"

The CRT is correct. The TEC should read "-1 SP from infantry attacking upslope across the hexside."

6) Is there a limit to leader modifiers on effectiveness rolls (i.e. could McClellan and Reno both use their modifier to affect a given unit's effectiveness roll)?

I assume you're referring to units attempting to rally. There is no limit. So if both McClellan and Reno are stacked with a routed unit, you could potentially roll 3 times (against Mac's effectiveness value, against Reno's, and against the unit's) in an attempt to rally (10.1).

7) I have a question regarding the loose ZOCs in the game: at the beginning of the movement phase, Rosser has two Union units in his ZOC (which would render his ZOC ineffective for any other hexes adjacent to him). Can one of these Union units then move directly from one adjacent hex to another adjacent hex against Rosser (thus the 'oozing' effect mentioned earlier)? For purposes of this example assume the Union unit is in range of its effective leader.

No. According to 6.1, "A unit which begins a Movement Phase in an enemy ZOC must be within two hexes of an effective leader... in order to leave its hex.... The exiting unit may enter the ZOC of a DIFFERENT enemy unit... but would then be required to stop." No "oozing" allowed.

8) Also, for purposes of reinforcement movement, do reinforcing units pay movement costs for the entry hex in which they are placed, or is this hex in effect a 'free' hex for movement?

No cost is paid for the entry hex (9.2.8).

 

 

McClellan & Victory
According to T. Harry Williams' Lincoln and His Generals:

"In dispatches to Washington, [McClellan] described the enemy as retreating in panic before his triumphant army. Completely lost to reality, he told his wife that God had seldom given an army a greater victory than South Mountain."

 


 

HOME | GAMES | ORDER | DESIGN | MISCELLANEOUS

© Scott Holmgren for
Blue Guidon Games, Waveland Creative, LLC